top of page
  • Writer's pictureEd Gaines

Bucks Capture First Title Since 1971, Defeating Suns in Six Games

Giannis Antetokounmpo has led the Milwaukee Bucks to their first NBA championship in 50 years, closing out the Phoenix Suns in the Finals on Tuesday night, 105-98.

Antetokounmpo scored 50 points, grabbed 14 rebounds, recorded five blocks and dished out two assists in the win. He is the first player since Shaquille O’Neal to record 40 points, 10 rebounds and five blocks in any playoff game. O’Neal did it in 2001.

He's also the first player to have a 50-10-5 stat line since blocks were first tracked in the 1973-74 season.

He was awarded the NBA Finals MVP.

Only five Bucks players contributed to the scoring. Each of those five players were in double figures.

Khris Middleton had 17 points, added five rebounds, five assists and four steals.

Jrue Holiday had 12 points in 46 minutes. He had 11 assists and nine rebounds as well as four assists. Brook Lopez added 10 points. Bobby Portis had 16 points and three rebounds off the bench.

Milwaukee won the series in six games.

It’s the first Bucks championship sine 1971. It was their third year of existence and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar was the star center for the team.

The Suns’ title drought now extends to 53 years.

Chris Paul led the Suns with 26 points on 11-of-19 from the floor. Devin Booker added 19 points. Jae Crowder had a double-double with 15 points and 13 rebounds.

56 views0 comments