top of page
  • Writer's pictureEd Gaines

Alabama Quarterback Bryce Young Easily Wins This Year’s Heisman

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young became the first Crimson Tide quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, making Alabama the 5th school with consecutive winners of college football's most prestigious player of the year award.

Young received 684 first-place votes and 2,311 points to easily outdistance Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson.

A year after former teammate DeVonta Smith won the Heisman, Young received 83% of total points available, the 7th highest among 87 winners. He was named on 90% of all ballots, also the seventh highest in Heisman history.

Young has passed for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns this season, leading No 1 Alabama to a Southeastern Conference title and a spot in the College Football Playoff.

The defending champion Crimson Tide will play No. 4 Cincinnati on December 31st in the Cotton Bowl.

120 views0 comments
bottom of page